Andhra Pradesh: Political parties urged to file objections on draft voter list

AP Chief Electoral Officer Vijayanand addressing the all-party meeting at the Secretariat in Amaravati on Friday

AP Chief Electoral Officer Vijayanand addressing the all-party meeting at the Secretariat in Amaravati on Friday


  • There are over 4 crore voters in the State, according to the draft voter list published on November 16
  • The final voter list will be published on January 15, 2021

Amaravati: Chief Electoral Officer of Andhra Pradesh Vijayanand asked the leaders of all political parties to file claims and objections on the recently published draft voters list.

Addressing the all-party meeting at the Secretariat here on Friday, Vijayanand appealed for the cooperation of the political parties in the registration of new voters on the list. He said that the latest voters list was published on November 16 after the rationalisation of the polling stations each with 1500 voters.

Elaborating on the schedule prepared for accepting the claims and objections, he said that they could be filed till December 15 and they would be solved by January 5, 2021.

He handed over the discs of the draft voters list to the representatives of all political parties. The list is also available on the EC's website for verification. Vijayanand said that special campaign days would be conducted on November 28 and 29 and again on December 12 and 13 for enrolment of new voters. The booth level officers would be available at the respective polling stations on those days from 10 am to 5 pm.

The booth level agents could meet them to get the objections solved. The applications from the new voters would also be accepted on those days. The final list would be published on January 15, 2021.

He deplored that the political parties are yet to appoint booth level agents which is very important in the revision of the voters list.

Draft list with 4-crore voters:

The Chief Electoral Officer said that the draft voters list with 4,0079,025 voters was ready by November 16 including 1,97,91,797 men, 2,02,83,145 women and 4,083 third gender persons. There are 7,126 overseas voters including 5,610 men, 1,514 women and two thirds gender persons.

Referring to the breaking up of the voters, he said that young voters between the age of 18 and 19 comprise 1,03,336, services voters 66,649. The number of new voters is 3,26,824, he said.

Out of the 45,000 applications received online, 33,000 voters were included in the list and 8,000 applications are yet to be sorted out. The Election Commission issued photo ID cards to 80 lakh new voters

Vijayanand appealed to the political parties to cooperate with the Election Commission to enrol voters for the forthcoming Teacher MLC elections in March. So far, 30,000 teachers enrolled as voters and all eligible teachers should enrol as voters by December 31.

TDP leader Alapati Rajendra Prasad lodged a complaint with the CEO stating that 49 polling stations in Chandragiri Assembly constituency were indiscriminately rationalised. The CEO assured him that he would discuss the issue with the district officials to solve it.

CPI leader Jalli Wilson appealed to the CEO to set up polling stations near the habitats of the Girijans.

TDP legal cell leader B Venkateswra Rao, YSR Congress leader Narayana Murthy, CPM leader J Prabhakar were also present.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories