KVP, TSR, M A Khan re-nominated for Rajya Sabha

KVP, TSR, M A Khan  re-nominated for Rajya Sabha

KVP, TSR, M A Khan re-nominated for Rajya Sabha, Sonia Gandhi, M A Khan, Subbirami Reddy. Tuesday is the last day for the filing of nominations. The election, if necessary, is slated for February 7.

TRS reportedly got Cong assurance to back KK

  • Last date for nominations today
  • Cong in no mood to take any chances
  • KVP and TSR hail from Seemandhra
  • They may not see opposition even from rebels
  • M A Khan represents minorities and T

New Delhi/Hyderabad: In a strategic move, AICC president Sonia Gandhi on Monday decided to re-nominate three sitting Congress MPs M A Khan, T Subbirami Reddy and K VP Ramachandra Rao for the ensuing biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha.

Tuesday is the last day for the filing of nominations. The election, if necessary, is slated for February 7. The Congress party apparently does not want to take any chance in the elections as the MLAs as well as the Cabinet is divided on regional lines. It is of the opinion that by re-nominating Subbirami Reddy and K V P Ramachandra Rao from Seemandhra region, it would be possible to manage the Seemandhra Congress MLAs, especially the rebel MLAs who have been threatening to field at least one candidate. M A Khan would be representing the minorities and T region.

Though four Congress seats would fall vacant soon, the party does not want to take any risk by fielding a fourth candidate in view of the political turmoil that is on in the State. Instead, it is likely to support the TRS candidate K Keshav Rao.

According to political sources, TRS had decided to put up Keshav Rao after getting a firm assurance from Congress party. However, not to take any chance, Keshav along with TRS leaders met AIMIM floor leader Akbaruddin Owaisi and sought their support.

The MIM leaders told him that they would discuss the issue with their party president and take a decision. At one point of time the AICC considered the name of former IAS officer and chairman of AICC SC cell, Koppula Raju. It is learnt Raju wrote a letter to AICC vice-president Rahul Gandhi, asking him not to consider his name and said that he would prefer to continue with party work.

Two AICC observers Thirunavukkarasu and Ramachandra Kuntia will be arriving here on Tuesday to ensure that the nominations take place in a smooth manner and all the party candidates would get elected without any problem.

The AICC announced that the party general secretary in charge of Andhra Pradesh Digvijay Singh would contest for Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh. From Chhattisgarh, AICC Treasurer Motilal Vora has been fielded once again.

Congress Vice-President’s close aide, AICC General Secretary Madhusudhan Mistry, has been named as the party candidate from Gujarat.

Other names cleared by Sonia Gandhi include Murli Deora and Hussein Umar Dalwai (Maharashtra), Viplove Thakur (Himachal Pradesh), Haji Abdul Salam (Manipur), Wasnuk Syiem (Meghalaya) and Ranjib Biswal (Odisha).

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories