Assembly Speaker Dr Kodela and Dy CM Chinarajappa to attend

Rajamahendravaram:  The stage to honour theatre personalities all over the state of Andhra Pradesh and present Nandi Theatre Awards -2016 is underway at Sri Venkateswara Anam Kalakendram, Rajamahendravaram in East Godavari district.
The winners of state level competitions for Nandi Theatre awards for the year 2016 were held at Vizianagaram, Guntur and Kurnool during the months of January –February 2017. They   will be given these awards in a special function to be held on Sunday. The state government has also issued orders declaring this function as state official function.

70 Nandi Awards in different categories such as Best Padyanatakam, Best social play etc is to be presented. Elaborate arrangements have been made at Anam Kalakendram for this ceremony, depicting the theatre ambience and necessary arrangements for stay of nearly 250 awardees and Jury members have also been made. AP State Film, TV and Theatre Development Corporation is coordinating with district administration for organizing this event in a big way.

As a part of  this  same function  Eminent state artiste Gummadi Gopala Krishna will be given NTR Rangastala Puraskaram 2016 , a Rs 1.5 lakh cash award and citation .In addition to this ceremony ,the state government has also decided to present Kandukuri Prathisthamaka Rangastala Puraskarams and Kandukuri Visista Puraskarams in this same function   .Kandukuri Prathistathamaka Puraskaram will be given to three eminent theatre personalities Karnati Lakshminarayana,Chinata Kabeer Das,and Rajini Bai Aggarapu . Each will be given Rs one lakh cash award and citation .

Kandukuri Visita Pursakaram will be presented to five theatre personalities, one each from 13 districts, consisting of Rs 10,000 and citation.District Collector Kartikeya Misra conducted a special meeting with various departmental officers at Rajamahendravaram to organise this ceremony in a befitting manner and Rajamahendravaram MP Maganti Murali Mohan is supervising the arrangements. Speaker of state Legislative Assembly Dr. Kodela Siva Prasad Rao, Deputy CM   N Chinarajappa and other peoples’ representatives are expected to attend.