Food Commission

Food Commission

Telangana government created Food Commission on April 16. The Commission will ensure supply of essential commodities to the common people across...

Telangana government created Food Commission on April 16. The Commission will ensure supply of essential commodities to the common people across Telangana State. The Supreme Court on April 26 pulled up five drought-hit states including Andhra Pradesh for not appointing state food commissions or not making them operational.

As per the the National Food Security Act, 2013 (also Right to Food Act), every State Government shall, by notification, constitute a State Food Commission for the purpose of monitoring and review of implementation of this Act. Programmes mandated under the NFSA, 2013, include the Midday Meal Scheme, Integrated Child Development Services scheme and the Public Distribution System.

Further, the NFSA 2013 recognizes maternity entitlements. The Midday Meal Scheme and the Integrated Child Development Services Scheme are universal in nature whereas the PDS will reach about two-thirds of the population (75% in rural areas and 50% in urban areas).

The Commission shall undertake the following functions, namely: (a) monitor and evaluate the implementation of this Act, in relation to the State; (b) either suo motu or on receipt of complaint inquire into violations of entitlements; (c) give advice to the State government on effective implementation of this Act; (d) give advice to the State government, their agencies, autonomous bodies as well as non-governmental organisations involved in delivery of relevant services, for the effective implementation of food and nutrition related schemes, to enable individuals to fully access their entitlements specified in this Act; (e) hear appeals against orders of the District Grievance Redressal Officer; and (f) prepare annual reports which shall be laid before the State Legislature by the State government.

The Act stipulates that the State government shall make available to the State Commission, such administrative and technical staff, as it may consider necessary for proper functioning of the State Commission.

The Commission shall consist of: (a) a Chairperson; (b) five other Members; and (c) a Member-Secretary, who shall be an officer of the State Government not below the rank of Joint Secretary to that Government: Provided that there shall be at least two women, whether Chairperson, Member or Member-Secretary: Provided further that there shall be one person belonging to the Scheduled Castes and one person belonging to the Scheduled Tribes, whether Chairperson, Member or Member-Secretary.

Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
Subscribed Failed...
Subscribed Successfully...
More Stories