Babhali got approval during TDP regime: TRS

Babhali got approval  during TDP regime: TRS

Warangal: Telangana Rashtra Samithi district unit president Takkallapalli Ravinder Rao has told the TDP...

trs3Warangal: Telangana Rashtra Samithi district unit president Takkallapalli Ravinder Rao has told the TDP leader Errabelli Dayakar Rao to stop fussing over Babhali project in the wake Supreme Court verdict. Addressing a press conference here on Sunday along with the party MLA Dr. Thatikonda Rajaiah, he said it was during the Telugu Desam Party regime the approval for the construction of Babhali was given. The approvals for the project were issued in 1995, tenders were called in the year '98 and works started in the year 2003 all through this period it was the TDP that was in ruling. "If the party leaders are really concerned over the damaging consequences of the project, why they failed to stop at that time?" he sought to know. The TDP leader Dayakar Rao was now shedding crocodile tears over the Supreme Court verdict on Babhali. He should have shed those tears before the party chief Nara Chandrababu Naidu while the latter was the Chief Minister, the TRS leader stated. He described the agitations and statements by TDP leaders against TRS in the wake of Babhali verdict were aimed to draw political mileage in the coming general elections. The party leader K Rajaiah Yadav stated that the TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu who was keenly promoting Polavaram project has not been talking about long pending project like Kanthanapally in Warangal district and crucial one for Telangana region. "Naidu has no concern for the projects in Telangana region as he is concerned about the projects in Seemandhra region". The TDP has to take the blame entirely for the Babhali fiasco, he added. To put pressure on state government towards speeding up Kanthanapally project a team of TRS legislators and top leaders would visit the project site on March 14 and stage a demonstration, informed Ravinder Rao. Later the party chief K Chandrasekhar Rao would be consulted to hold a public meeting at the project site, he added. The party leaders Jannu Zackaraiah, N Narender, Jorike Ramesh, Mohammed Nayeemuddin, Endla Nageshwar and others were present.
Show Full Article
Download The Hans India Android App or iOS App for the Latest update on your phone.
More Stories