Sapthagiri Express between Tirupati and Chennai is back

Sapthagiri Express between Tirupati and Chennai is back

Sapthagiri Express between Tirupati and Chennai is back


  • The train will be resumed from tomorrow after a gap of 8 months
  • Normally, there is good demand for the train and it always witnesses 100 per cent occupation
  • Passengers need to have an advance reservation for any class of travel
  • No of trains passing through Tirupati station goes up from one on June 1, 2020, to more than 20 now

Tirupati: Indian Railways has been gradually increasing the number of trains during the last six months. Now, the South Central Railway (SCR) has announced the restoration of special train between Tirupati and MGR Chennai Central from November 19.

It may be recalled that all trains were stopped across the country since the Janata curfew on March 22 which was followed by lockdown.

Various railway zones have announced some special trains to run from June 1 and the number was being increased keeping in view the requirements and Covid situation.

Some special trains were introduced during the Dasara and Deepavali festivals while some trains have been cancelled too due to low patronage.

The Tirupati – Chennai Central Sapthagiri Express was a much sought after train for many to travel between the two cities. Many businessmen and others used to travel by that train which takes 3.15 hours journey duration. It was not easy to get a confirmed ticket for that train in a short time. During the unlock period, people have been looking eagerly for the restoration of this train.

At last, the SCR has decided to operate this train with 06057/06008 numbers. Accordingly, train number 06057 will depart MGR Chennai Central at 6.25 am on November 19 and arrive at Tirupati at 9.40 am. Enroute, this special train will stop at Ambattur, Tiruvallur, Arakkonam, Tiruttani, Ekambarakuppam, Puttur and Renigunta stations.

In the return direction, train number 06008 will depart Tirupati at 10.15 am and arrive MGR Chennai Central at 1.40 pm. Enroute, this train will stop at Renigunta, Puttur, Ekambarakuppam, Tiruttani, Arakkonam, Tiruvallur and Perambur stations.

This daily special train will consist of AC chair car, second class chair car and reserved general seating class coaches. Speaking to The Hans India, senior DCM, Guntakal division, B Prasanth Kumar said that like all other trains only reserved passengers will be allowed to board this train too. To a question, he said that this train witnessed more than 100 per cent occupation on November 19 last year and bookings have already started now. He added that they will get clarity on running more trains in December.

According to Tirupati station Director S Nagaramana Sarma, more than 20 trains were passing through Tirupati station now starting from only one train on June 1. Four trains – Narayanadri, Rayalaseema and Amaravati Express daily trains and Visakhapatnam– Tirupati weekly double-decker were originating from Tirupati itself.

Meanwhile, the SCR has announced another weekly train 02659/02660 between Nagercoil and Shalimar from November 22. It will pass through Chittoor, Tirupati, Renigunta, Nellore and Ongole among other stations.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories