Report: This Android feature is slowing down Google smartphones

Report: This Android feature is slowing down Google smartphones
x
Highlights

Google introduced the Digital Wellbeing feature with Android 9 Pie last year in order to let users not hook-up to their smartphones all the time.

Google introduced the Digital Wellbeing feature with Android 9 Pie last year in order to let users not hook-up to their smartphones all the time. The feature is still rolling out to a few smartphones. Since the latest Pixel smartphones also run Android 9 Pie, they also boast of this feature. However, some users, especially those using the Pixel 3 and the new-launched Pixel 3a, are facing slow-down/stuttering issues due to it. So with older models are facing it too.

As reported by multiple users on a Reddit thread, both Google Pixel 3 and Pixel 3a smartphones are slowing down due to Digital Wellbeing. Switching it off apparently fixes the issue for many.

One of the users said, "Saw it was a known bug on some YouTube comment about the Pixel 3a, turned it off on my Pixel 3 and it has made the world of difference. Can't believe I was living with so much stuttering thinking it was normal. The difference is like night and day. If you have a Pixel 3, I highly recommend you give it a go even if you think you have no performance issues."

"Yep, when I still had mine I was wondering why my battery life was suddenly garbage. Then I thought maybe an app was draining it, and after removing a couple of potential culprits, realized DW could easily be the issue. I went from wanting to replace my now awful battery to back to my normal phone. It was insane," posted another one.

Google has not yet commented anything on this matter. But if it really is an issue, expect it to be fixed in the next OS update. If you are one of the affected users, it is possible to turn off Digital Wellbeing feature by navigating through your smartphone's Settings > Digital Wellbeing > Tap three-dot icon on top-right and choose 'Turn off usage access' > confirm it and choose Digital Wellbeing; turn off the 'Permit usage access'.

Show Full Article
Print Article
Next Story
More Stories